Skip to content

A Happily Ever After of Her Own: Nadia Lee

June 15, 2010

Melinda Lightfoot, a preschool teacher with an unusual ability to flit in and out of fairy tales, never thought she would get into trouble…

…until the Fairy Tale Police arrest her while she is in Beauty and the Beast. They offer her a deal: Find Beauty, who left the story when Melinda trespassed into it, or be charged with the ultimate crime — Fairy Tale Killer. If that’s not bad enough the Beast tags along in search of his true love, and Melinda starts falling for the fairy tale prince. She must choose between doing the right thing and having her own happily ever after.

Warning: This title contains the following: Fairy Godmother, the Wicked Witch, dysfunctional fairy tale families, ax-wielding executioners and a happily ever after (or two).

After a series of stinkers that aren’t even worth mentioning here, I stumbled across this delightful novella a couple of weeks ago and absolutely PLOWED through it.  I’d never heard of Miss Lee before, but saw her book tweeted, and when I saw the cover (which I LOVE), I had to buy.  As far as I can tell just now, Kindle is the only place you can buy it.  But it’s totally DRM free, so you can use Calibre to convert it to whatever format you need.  From what I can tell, this is a stand alone  novella that’s a total laugh a minute.  Fans of Fractured Fairytales (does ANYBODY remember those?  Maybe I’m showing my age) and the Shrek movies will absolutely appreciate Lee’s fanciful approach to fairy tales.  The connections between familiar fairy tale characters are delightfully dysfunctional and you’ll die laughing over the reason behind the Beast’s curse.  It’s a lovely, light read.  Short but not really missing anything.  Just a nice little bite of romance.  I love how Lee really embodies the entire REASON we read romance–because in our real life world, happily ever afters are hard to believe in.   I’ll definitely be keeping my eyes peeled for more from Nadia Lee.

Four ooey, gooey chocolate chip cookies and a tall glass of milk to A Happily Ever After of Her Own.  Totally worth the $0.99 price tag.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 12:21 pm

    Thank you for the lovely review! :-)

    • saucybelle permalink*
      June 15, 2010 1:10 pm

      I seriously hope there’s more where this came from because I LOVED IT.

      • June 15, 2010 1:57 pm

        I hope so too. :-)

        If you want, you can subscribe to my newsletter for occasional news bites, free chapters, advance looks at works in progress and other cool stuff. I gave away A HAPPILY EVER AFTER OF HER OWN to my newsletter subscribers last year. I try to do at least one giveaway or something like that per year, though I can’t guarantee that it’s going to be a free read every time. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

