Skip to content

The Devilin Fey by Jess C. Scott

August 3, 2010

I headed back to Smashwords for my review this week, picking out a book that reminded me of those mid 90s flower covers that were pretty but had nothing to do with the story.  The Devilin Fey by Jess C. Scott is a 33k compilation of two novellas.  According to the product description:

A novella of two stories, featuring an incubus and succubus. Story #1 features a demure young woman unleashing the “devil in” her, through the intimacy with an incubus. Story #2 features a voyeuristic succubus driven by jealousy and a dangerous fixation.

I am sorry to say that I can’t really recommend this book.  I had hopes because she started out with an interesting take on incubi, but I had absolutely NO respect for the heroine of the first (longer) novella.  I could not relate to her AT ALL.  The writing itself was all tell, tell, tell with no showing and a heavy reliance on thoughtologue.   The writing was flat and emotionless (back to the telling rather than showing).  The text was full of improperly placed commas, and errors like using the word “smelt” where “smelled” was needed.  Smelting is a process of separating iron from ore, not something one does with one’s nose.  I am not a skimmer at all and I had to skim to get to the end to see if it got any better.  It didn’t.  I didn’t believe in the relationship between the hero and heroine, and the only redeeming quality I found was that the asshole she sleeps with at the very beginning (which is where she lost my respect), gets tortured in the end, and he totally deserved it (no shock that I liked that–The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favorite stories).  I didn’t even make it to the second novella.  I think the author could use a serious crash course in character development.

One and a half cookies for an intriguing concept that could be improved drastically by proper character development.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 8:44 pm

    “picking out a book that reminded me of those mid 90s flower covers that were pretty but had nothing to do with the story. ”

    [Guest post on Cover Art + Concept of Flowers] — http://www.stella-exlibris.com/2010/07/spotlight-on-paranormal-romance-guest_22.html

    Just so you know (:

    Glad you found the flower cover pretty, though.

    P.S. ‘Smelt’ is the more frequent in British English (I grew up in Singapore). I believe I’ve switched to ‘smelled’ in an upcoming novel (but might switch back with other material, if/when I feel like it).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

