Skip to content

iPad Release Day

April 3, 2010
tags: ,

So the much lauded Apple iPad releases today.  I’ve been following on Twitter as folks who are waiting in line in New York tweet about the process.  Evidently the apple store is giving out coffee and pastries from Starbucks.  Because, you know, nothing says yuppie like Starbucks and Apple products.  Galleycat posted the following video where they interviewed a couple of folks reading Dead Tree Books while they waited.

The second chick I think is nuts.  Who pays $50-100 for a book that isn’t a fancy first edition or something?  But the first guy, now him I’m intrigued by.  He’s using the same pricing model for books that iTunes uses for songs.  He’s expecting to pay $0.99 for a book.  Not to dis musicians, but it takes a whole lot longer to write a book than it does to write a song.  I would know, I’m married to one.  So to permanently think that a book should be $0.99 period…I’m not sure I agree with that. Which is a little pot/kettle action going on there because as a reader, I definitely flock to the $1 or free bargains for authors I don’t know.  Still I’m more inclined to agree with J. A. Konrath who has repeatedly said he believes the price point is $1.99 or, to go along with Amazon’s new system, $2.99.

How much are you willing to pay for an ebook?

In other news, Amazon is adding a disclaimer to the books which fall under the agency model pricing scheme.  “This price was set by the publisher.”  In other words, “dude, don’t blame us.”

***This just in.  I’ve just found out that you can ONLY view the iBookstore FROM the iPad.  There’s no iPhone app.  It’s not even like having the Kindle store at Amazon.  So unless you are one of the elitist few who can afford to shell out $500+ for a reader, you can’t even BROWSE THE SELECTION.  I just have to say, LAME, Apple, LAME.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    April 3, 2010 10:01 am

    I’m a huge ebook reader. The most I’m willing to pay is $7.

  2. cookiemama28 permalink*
    April 3, 2010 10:56 am

    I guess they only showed interviews with people who show up to buy anything branded Apple without doing any research. Because Guy 1 doesn’t seem to have a clue about the pricing Apple’s agreed to–which obviously has nothing to do with whether or not they have to pay for paper. And Girl 2 makes no sense to me since why would you ever have to pay a rare book price for a digital book? They should be able to send out as many of those as they have customers. So while I could see putting out that kind of money for a textbook because some textbooks just cost that much, it wouldn’t have anything to do with no one else having it.

    For things I expect to like, authors I’ve tried, or stories with good, intriguing blurbs, I’ll easily pay $3-$4. I just did, about 5 minutes ago. That’s pretty painless for me, though I’ll usually wait for some incentive like a few more cents off from a sale or coupon before buying.

    I’ll pay more than 5 if a friend tells me I’ll like something. I just paid over $12 for the third in Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series and I’m not even finished with the first. But the combination of a trusted friend’s recommendation and the solid feeling of like I have from what I’ve read put it over. Got a coupon, had to go snap it up. I’ve paid close to $10 for some of Shannon McKenna’s, I think. Some of her books are only in trade format so they’re expensive no matter what and I gotta have ’em. As long as the e price is less than the paper price, I’ll probably cave sooner or later.

    But I jump on free reads. And often if I get the free one I’ll get the others if I can get them at a good price and I liked the first one at all. I got a Larissa Ione freebie, read it, and bought 2 more books from the series–and I didn’t even love the book, just liked it well enough and was intrigued enough by the other characters to want to read their stories too. Plus, I have an obsessive-collector gene that expresses with series books. I have hundreds of books from one Harlequin line. Probably should seek help.

    I can see myself getting into the dollar reads from Smashwords. I’ve already started trolling there for freebies and think I will start buying from the freebie authors I’ve liked.

  3. sweet tart permalink*
    April 5, 2010 9:23 pm

    I think I really like the $2.99 price point. Though obviously if it’s less than that I’m on it. But $2.99 is pretty painless and not even a “buying decision” really. I mean that’s not even the price of a cheeseburger and fries at most fast food joints. So basically I can read a book and eat a little less crap. Double win.

Leave a Reply

