Skip to content

Hello my Lovelies: Ereader Decisions

April 5, 2010

Some people may have checked out our bios and seen me up there, but this is my first post. I thought I’d open with a few thoughts about e-readers. Those who have read my bio know that I haven’t yet purchased an e-reader and I’m a fairly new convert to the tribe of “zomg ebooks are cool.” Which is pretty funny because I resisted them for so long.

Right now I’m still reading PDFs on my computer. I have bought from Ellora’s Cave, as well as nonfiction ebooks from individuals all over the web. And I buy kindle books.

“Wait, you don’t have an e-reader!”

Oh good. You were paying attention. I downloaded Kindle for PC which is free software that allows you to download and read Kindle books without actually owning a Kindle.

I’ve weighed the pros and cons of the many different e-readers currently available and I’ve made my decision. I’m getting a Kindle. One of the few real “cons” to a Kindle for me was the dedicated format and the fact that it doesn’t support epub. But it DOES support PDF. And most places you can get ebooks besides OTHER dedicated stores like Sony and B&N for the Nook, sell a PDF version among their many versions available. (And Sony and B&N don’t really hold much sway since their selections are much smaller than Amazon’s selection.)

Even if “epub” becomes the “accepted format,” whether Amazon adopts it or not, I expect that I’m going to want a new bright shiny e-reader in five years anyway. So I can reassess the situation at that time. For now, a Kindle meets all my needs perfectly and the cons I found to it were far outstripped by the pros. (Bigger selection at the dedicated store, fast wireless delivery, the design/ergonomics of it, etc.)

Additionally I can get books from Smashwords and get either the PDF version or the kindle .mobi version. And obviously I can shop the vast array of books available through the Kindle store. It’s where most of the indie authors are. Lots of great prices for ebooks at Amazon. Needless to say, most of my ebook purchases will be indie authors. I’m just not paying the “going rate” for a trad pubbed ebook. I’m not threatened in any way by these goofy price wars. I’ve discovered there are plenty of talented indies to pick from.

The result is that I will increasingly add to my “favorite authors list” more and more indie authors, bypassing many trad published books altogether.

Another possible “con” of Kindle books is that unless the book is DRM-free, I may not be able to get it on my computer as a backup. AND Kindle can remove it at any time, technically. It doesn’t seem to me that this is standard practice for them, but the implications of the possibility are almost Orwellian.

Nevertheless, I view ebooks a bit differently than many. I’m still in love with paper books, but I want to read more than I can afford to read and I’m not a big fan of the library due to lack of selection and waiting on interlibrary loan. To me, an ebook is an impulse purchase and a “one off.” I’m reading it just the one time (like renting a movie, or eating a Big Mac), so I don’t particularly care what Amazon does to it after that. The odds that I’ll read one ebook two times on my e-reader are pretty slim.

If I love a book enough to read it more than once, I’ll buy a print copy if it’s available. The only way in which I can see reading a book more than once on my e-reader is if I love it but a print copy wasn’t published.

I’m planning to pick up my Kindle by the end of this month. Then I can join the rest of the e-book revolution. Expect to see lots of excitement over my new toy and a growing disinterest in buying non-indie books.

2 Comments
  1. saucybelle permalink*
    April 6, 2010 8:26 am

    That actually works out great as between the three of us, we have the 3 major eReaders covered. We can’t speak to iPad but it really shouldn’t be classed the same because it is not JUST an eReader (as my husband was quick to point out).

  2. sweet tart permalink*
    April 6, 2010 2:06 pm

    Cool then! I know you have a Nook, does that mean Cookie has a Sony ereader?

Comments are closed.

