Skip to content

Nothing To Commend Her by Jo Barrett

May 18, 2010

Hey, listen up all you indie writers, because here’s someone who did some stuff right. I want to tell you how I got sucked into buying (this is not a super-cheap) ebook and reading it.

Check it out a Fictionwise. Well, I’ll just borrow the blurb.

The Earl of Pensby lost his wife in a fire, one that left him scarred in more ways than one. He’s surly, brooding, and according to half the ton, a monster. Except to Agatha Trumwell, she sees so much more than his scars. But with a pitiful dowry, unfavorable looks, and a tendency to speak her mind, she has nothing to commend her, or so she believes. Can these two lonely souls find love amid the gossiping beau monde while someone plots to tear their fragile world apart?

This was a good blurb. I’ve read a lot of lousy blurbs lately, but this one grabbed me. Let’s see…scarred hero, brooding! (I am powerless against the brooding hottie hero), social outcast, plain jane heroine, who is more than what people think, two people alone in the world…yep, pretty much pushing buttons in every sentence of that blurb. So now I want to like this. A bit pricey, so I’m going to have to go down into the except to talk myself into buying it. Now, you will actually have to go read the excerpt elsewhere because I’m not lifting that many words that aren’t mine. So go, read, come back.

A lot of books will give you the beginning. The carefully polished first page or two that were sent off in the query or proposal or what have you. And sometimes it’s a while before you get to the hook. If the writing’s not good, I don’t even get that far. I very much approve of this, though, pulling out a clip from a scene that shows dramatic interaction between the main characters. And boy, does this one do that.

Something about this just SMACKED of Jane Eyre for me. Not like: this is a Jane Eyre rip-off–it was like this is a new story starring some big, ferocious, fire-scarred guy named Magnus who could be Rochester’s cousin. It had the FEELing of being like something I really liked. To me it promised a Jane Eyre type experience with less antiquated language and more sensuality if not outright sex. Woohoo!

The characters are actually well into the story by this time. You can tell by what you’ve read that they’re already living together. This is after they’ve spent some time together in the story and there’s just this world of misunderstanding between them. The intrigue part of the plot, in which she thinks someone is trying to kill her has just started. So there’s meat here.

It’s an excerpt that shows the personalities of both characters, hints at the romance and intrigue plots, gives you a clear glimpse of the inner turmoil and pain of both characters, is packed with sexual tension, and ends on a kiss.
So obviously I bought it, and it should have sat at the bottom of my TBR file for a while. But it couldn’t. In fact, it was past time for me to go to bed when I started the thing. I had just finished something else that was not very good, and, having gotten that off my plate, I just wanted a peek at this one. I couldn’t stop wondering if it was going to be good, and I was just going to read a few pages, maybe a chapter or two, just to see what it was like.
And then, at 2am, I finished it.
Obviously I really enjoyed this book. The writing was fine, the period stuff not overdone at all. The characters were well developed and the romance was lovely. Didn’t make me cry, but then few things do. If you’re expecting a mystery, please don’t. The culprit behind the heroine’s mishaps was pretty easy to spot, though the motive wasn’t really. That part of the book being weak is my only complaint. But really, I loved the love story so much, I couldn’t care less.
So I’m giving 4 out of 4 cookies to Ms. Barrett for Nothing to Commend Her, for keeping me up half the night, and for teaching us something about how to lure me into buying a book. You already know that I got mine at Fictionwise, and you can also check it out at Wild Rose Press.

~Cookie

//


Click on image to enlarge.

Nothing to Commend Her [MultiFormat]
eBook by Jo Barrett

Regular Club
You Pay: $6.00 $5.10
Micropay Rebate: $2.40 $2.04
Cost After Rebate: $3.60 $3.06
You Save: 40% 49%

eBook Category: Romance
eBook Description: The Earl of Pensby lost his wife in a fire, one that left him scarred in more ways than one. He’s surly, brooding, and according to half the ton, a monster. Except to Agatha Trumwell, she sees so much more than his scars. But with a pitiful dowry, unfavorable looks, and a tendency to speak her mind, she has nothing to commend her, or so she believes. Can these two lonely souls find love amid the gossiping beau monde while someone plots to tear their fragile world apart?

eBook Publisher: The Wild Rose Press/English Tea Rose, Published: 2010
Fictionwise Release Date: February 2010

<!––>
88 Reader Ratings:

Great Good OK Poor

Available eBook Formats [MultiFormat – What’s this?]: eReader (PDB) [242 KB] , ePub (EPUB) [225 KB] , Rocket/REB1100 (RB) [197 KB] , Portable Document Format (PDF) [685 KB] , Palm Doc (PDB) [219 KB] , Microsoft Reader (LIT) [209 KB] , Franklin eBookMan (FUB) [236 KB] , hiebook (KML) [527 KB] , Sony Reader (LRF) [260 KB] , iSilo (PDB) [180 KB] , Mobipocket (PRC) [229 KB] , Kindle Compatible (MOBI) [279 KB] , OEBFF Format (IMP) [301 KB] <!–
Words:
Reading time:
Words: 68130
Reading time: 194-272 min. min.–>
Words: 68130
Reading time: 194-272 min.
Microsoft Reader (LIT) Format: Printing DISABLED, Read-Aloud ENABLED
Portable Document Format (PDF) Format: Printing DISABLED, Read-Aloud ENABLED
All Other formats: Printing DISABLED, Read-aloud DISABLED
ISBN: d4401


She glared at his back as he made for the door. “Theatrics? Theatrics! You can take your bloody theatrics and go to the devil. I–am–leaving!”

“You’re not going anywhere,” he growled, as he turned, the scarred side of his face a pale contrast to the angry red flush of his skin.

But she refused to be bullied. “It is apparent that you’ve no need of a companion, since we speak hardly a word during meals, nor do we engage in any semblance of a conversation afterward,” she said, her breathing quickened by her fury. “And you’ve made it painfully obvious you don’t want me in your bed!”

She threw the shawl into her trunk and slammed the lid. “You couldn’t even bring yourself to kiss me on our wedding day. Well, your mistress, or whoever this demon stalking me is, can bloody well have you!”

In two strides, he was in front of her, gripping her arms with such strength, a spark of fear gripped her as strongly as he did. Would he harm her, beat her?

Then she looked into his turbulent gray eyes. No, he was furious, but there was something else, something deeper, something that told her he would never raise his hand against her.

“There is no mistress,” he snarled.

Odd that she believed him, but she would not remain where she was of no use, where she wasn’t wanted.

“And I was pushed,” she ground out.

“Then I’ll assign you a bloody guard, but you are not leaving,” he demanded with a vigorous shake. “Do you hear me?”

She couldn’t utter a word amid the chaotic emotions flashing across his face and in his eyes.

“You cannot leave me,” he said, his words broken and pain-filled. Then his lips crashed into hers.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

