Skip to content

The Death of Patsy McCoy by: Levi Montgomery

June 1, 2010

The author sent me a copy of this ebook and it sat on my Kindle for several weeks as my to do list is off the charts long. I wasn’t sure if it would be something I would be “into” or not. It’s not really my normal genre. But it was a novella, on the short side, so I thought: hey, what the hell?

I couldn’t put it down. This is one of the best things I’ve read in a VERY long time. I’m not sure there are enough cookies in the universe to give this author. The story is told in 1st person from multiple viewpoints as several characters go back to their small town to attend a funeral. They each look back over the last time they were in the town, a summer during their childhood when they were particularly cruel to a new boy named Patrick McCoy who they nicknamed “Patsy.”

In the first chapter one of the main character’s, nicknamed Farm Boy, narrates:

His death began the moment we saw him. It just took a long time to consummate that death. We began to kill him when we first saw him…

The characters of this novella are each well-drawn and realistic. No two characters sound the same (something very hard for most authors to pull off who try to explore with multiple first person POV).

The editing is great. I don’t think I noticed a single typo if there were any.

The ending was a surprise and literally made me break out in goosebumps. And that rarely happens for me. I’m rarely that surprised and usually see the author’s intentions telegraphed chapters before the ending.

This book explores cruelty and how very easy it is for a human being to turn into a monster if he or she doesn’t guard themselves very carefully from it. The psychology of the novella was spot on, and I will definitely check out future work from this author.

I give this novella 4 and a half cookies. (Yes, I know, 4 is the max, and I’ve done this before, but I really loved this story.)

The only downside is the cover art looks self-published. However, this is definitely one of those times where you should NOT judge a book by it’s cover. But that’s why you’ve got me here… to tell you these things. 😛

This book can be purchased on the Amazon Kindle for $1.99.

FTC Disclaimer: This book was sent to me free by the author

Comments are closed.

